Sunnyville Stories

Screen Shot 2013-05-29 at 23.34.21By Max West

Sunnyville Stories Volume 1 collects the first three “episodes” of Max West’s independent series, also titles Sunnyville Stories. It follows Rusty Duncan, a young tomcat moving to the small town of Sunnyville. Rusty resents the thought of moving to a place like Sunnyville at first but he soon makes friends, this is just the beginning of his adventures.

Reading this I was reminded of what it’s like to be growing up. Rusty faces the challenge of making friends upon arrival to Sunnyville, something all kids have had to suffer through at least once in their life. He encounters what I believed to be a bully in the second episode again, something many young people have to go through. I wish I could give this book to a younger version of me, I could have learnt so much. The stories are relatable and are very true to what life as a kid is like.

I love the simplicity of the book and the subtle humour that is within. The book is not patronising or trying to be something it’s not. West is aware of his target audience and his execution is evident of this. While this book is for people younger than I, it was nice to reminisce  about simpler times and being a youngster.

I would recommend this book to anyone with kids. It’s so much like what I remember reading as a child without the patronisation. Seriously, give it to your kids. They’ll love it and you might too.

Follow me on Twitter @olivia217

 

2 thoughts on “Sunnyville Stories

  1. […] positive review.  This time, it is from Olivia’s Comic Book Blog.  Be sure to check out her excellent review of my […]

  2. […] out my review of Sunnyville Stories Volume […]

Leave a comment